Sexual Abuse in Las Vegas, Nevada
In Nevada, sex crimes are punished harshly with incarceration, fines and fees, and sometimes sex offender registration. Any felony or misdemeanor charge in the state with a sexual component is then classified as a sex crime.
Example of Sexual Abuse
If convicted of a sex crime, defendants are unable to remove those charges from their criminal record. The term “sexual crime” can pertain to a wide range of different incidents, including but not limited to:
– Statutory rape
– Groping or inappropriate touching
– Indecent exposure
– Sex trafficking
– Sex between pupils and school employees
– Child pornography
Sexual abuse claims, like other personal injury claims, can be settled in or out of court. If a case does proceed to litigation, circumstantial evidence is key, as oftentimes that is what builds a victim’s argument. Any witness statements, potentially incriminating texts and communication, or medical expert testimony are critical to help prove your case.
We understand that coming forward with a sexual abuse claim is one of the scariest things a victim can do. That is why our staff maintains 100 percent confidentiality and professionalism in all that we do. We want victims to see us as a safe space, there to protect them and fight for their rights.
Let us help you!
Nevada Statute of Limitations
In terms of statutes of limitations, Nevada state law offers more leeway for sexual abuse victims than just about any other crimes. Time limits extend much longer than the average two and three-year standards. Sexual assault victims are given 20 years after the commission of the crime to file a claim, but if a police report was filed at any time before the 20-year mark, or there is DNA evidence against the accused, then there is no statute of limitations at all.
Those who have been abused as a child and were not aware of it are eligible to file a claim until they are 43 years old, or 36 years of age if they were aware.
Our Sexual Abuse Attorneys Are Here to Help
Why Should You Hire a Personal Injury Attorney?
How Long Can a Personal Injury Case Take?
What You Should Know If You Were Involved in a Parking Lot Crash?