Hit-and-run accidents can be extremely frustrating. When one driver crashes into you but flees the scene, you could be left with injuries and damage to your vehicle with no one to hold accountable. While it’s possible the hit-and-run driver can be found later and face criminal charges, you will need to still report the accident.
Depending on the severity of the accident and whether you were able to get information about the other driver’s vehicle before they took off, police may or may not arrive on scene to do a report. You may need to fill one out online yourself. You will still need to report the accident to your insurance company, as they will cover your expenses up to your coverage limit.
What Is a Hit-and-Run?
A hit-and-run accident is when a motor vehicle hits another car, person, or object and drives away without performing any of the duties that are imposed by law upon Nevada drivers. In and immediately following a car crash, Nevada law places a duty upon drivers to:
- Stop at the scene of a crash
- Exchange information
- Eender aid and/or arrange for medical care if needed
- Immediately report the accident to the police
If, however, a driver chooses to ignore these duties and drive away, they have participated in a hit-and-run.
For a free legal consultation, call (725) 900-9000
Nevada Hit-and-Run Laws
A hit-and-run can be a misdemeanor or a felony in Nevada, depending on the situation and the severity of the injuries and damages. If no one is injured in the hit-and-run, it is a misdemeanor. If there is an injury or death because of the hit-and-run, it is a felony.
The duties a person owes once they are involved in a crash with any vehicle or property varies depending on the circumstances and the damages caused, and Nevada’s hit-and-run laws are divided into three categories:
Hit-and-Run Causing Death or Bodily Injury
NRS § 484E.010: In a crash that results in death or bodily injury, the driver must stop, exchange information, render aid, and report the accident to the police. If one instead participates in a hit-and-run, it is a category B felony, which can hold a hefty fine and a prison term ranging from two years to 20 years.
Hit-and-Run Causing Vehicle or Property Damage
NRS § 484E.020: In a crash involving damage to vehicle or property, the driver must stop, move the vehicle to a safe location if possible, then exchange information and report the accident to the police. If a person instead participates in a hit-and-run, it is a misdemeanor, which may include a fine up to $1,000 and up to six months in prison.
Unattended Vehicle or Property Hit-and-Run
NRS § 484E.040: In a crash involving damage to an unattended vehicle or property, the driver must stop, immediately locate and notify the owner of the vehicle or property of the driver’s contact information (e.g., attaching a written note under their windshield wipers), and report the accident to the police.
If a person instead participates in a hit-and-run, it is a misdemeanor, which may include a fine up to $1,000 and up to six months in prison.
Reporting a Hit-and-Run
If the police arrive at the crash scene and file an accident report themselves, you do not have to file an additional report. However, if the police are not present at the crash, then you have 10 days from the date of the crash to file a Traffic Crash Report.
Although you might not be present when the hit-and-run occurs, it is important to let the police know as soon as possible. There might be context clues around the scene, such as witnesses, debris from the driver’s car, or a nearby surveillance camera that caught the act.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Contact a Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer
Contacting a personal injury lawyer after the accident is crucial as well because Nevada car accident victims may file personal injury lawsuits against the hit-and-run driver. In fact, your injury and damages may increase because of the hit-and-run if, for example, your injuries were made worse because it took longer for you to acquire medical care.
The experienced accident attorneys at Van Law Firm want to get you the compensation you deserve after a hit-and-run. Give us a call or contact us online for a free consultation today!
No obligation consultations are always free.Let Us Help You! Call Now: (725) 900-9000
These guys are amazing. Helped me throughout the process. Always there when I need help. Inititailly called a law firm (the one that has lots of ads on the radio), but they declined my case. Van Law Firm accepted my case without a second thought! Kudos to Daniel, my case manager, and Amanda who expedited my payment process. Highly recommended.Milby Mags
Got in an accident at the beginning of the year and they have been awesome, especially with it being my first accident and me being like this. They have been very communicated, stayed in contact with me the whole time, giving me updates when there were any and even when there weren’t and answered any question I had. I would recommend them to anyone. Everyone I have talked to there has been very friendly. I would give them a 10 out of 10.Ethan Gullet
They made sure that my insurance company covered what I paid for them to which included the gap for my car that was totaled. My medical costs were taken care of and reduced substantially so I was able to get more on my settlement. My case manager, Will Garcia, was always helpful in assisting me and answering any questions I had. They really did an amazing job with my case. I would definitely recommend them to anyone in need of this type of legal help. Most lawyers do not help you with the recovery of the car and rental etc. They are amazing.Teresa Cuthbertson